Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Amazing experience. Great people. Pura Vida!

Feb 12, 2015 by Garry

Spending time at Bodhi Surf School was simply amazing. The personalized surfing and yoga sessions were incredible and so much better than we could have ever expected. We had first timers for both surfing and yoga, but Gibran and Pilar's teaching methods allowed us to feel relaxed, learn the techniques, and have a blast! I feel like we developed an understanding and appreciation of the practices that will allow us to continue to enjoy them after our trip.

The team at Bodhi has really figured out how to create a positive environment that leaves a lasting impression, we've been feeding off the positive vibes from our trip for weeks and it's surely an experience we will never forget. On top of everything, their passion for community and environmental initiatives is contagious. I couldn't think of better people to introduce us to Costa Rica.

Thanks to everyone at Bodhi Surf School, Pura Vida!


miracles happen at Bodi

Nov 24, 2014 by Felicia Granados

I met Travis several years ago when he offered his service in the Peace Corps. A dreamy and hardworking person. We kept in touch and I consider him my friend. Now I came to visit his place and met his family: Pilar and Maya.
The place is perfect for a family looking for tranquility and the best conditions for their children. No television, then it was the first time I talked with my son Francisco 15 years, the atmosphere helped us have a nice conversation. I could not be happier. My daughters were delighted with the place, including dogs. Another miracle happened, I took my first yoga class, it was the first time I felt my body stretched, my back discovered it could be without pain and my back can be straight. Pilar Thanks for helping me discover my body.
As if those miracles were not enough, my daughters and son received their first surf lesson together, watch them ride the waves in complete freedom and control of their body was wonderful. Thanks Travis and Pilar to make these miracles happen in our family. Bodi is a magical place, thanks for sharing.
I have to mention that I was impressed when I read their report of activities in 2013, more than 13 different iniciative. I also learn that there is a Mother Ocean, not just a Mother Earth, Gracias Travis keep up your great work.


Killer bungalow, awesome people

Jan 07, 2014 by Angie & Dan Novigrod

My husband and I arrived on Christmas Eve to Bodhi Surf lodge. Pilar and Travis were kind enough to invite us to a gathering for Christmas Eve dinner in the common area. They were very sweet about letting us know there was no pressure either way to come. However, we did and the food, company and drinks were wonderful. We felt so at home and welcomed!
Our bungalow was big, beautiful, clean and well appointed. It had two bedrooms, vaulted ceilings, gorgeous wood floors and fully equipped kitchen. Our patio had a table with 4 chairs to enjoy meals or just enjoy nature. BTW these are ECO friendly accommodations so every detail to keeping our "footprint" as small as possible was taken into consideration.
The surf clinic was run by Gibran. Both he and Harrison were awesome instructors. My husband and I were both able to step up our game on this trip. Yew!
They also helped us the days we didn't have surf clinic arrange board rental. Gibran also accommodated a request for some photos and there were a couple of killer ones worth a frame!
The area boasts a local grocery store and several little eateries. Many in a one in a 5 minute walk the rest closer to 15 minute walk. The beach is about 20 minute walk and if you don't have boards is doable. As for having a car the beach is 5 minutes and the store only a few.
The place is really a slice of heaven.
Pilar, Travis and Gibran really have their hearts in the right place with their conservation efforts. I can't wait to return again and do another surf clinic and enjoy the area of Bahia Ballena.
Tips: Foggata pizza BBQ chicken pizza, yummy! Roadshack deli-super yummy (we had the Fat Bastard and the Veggie Wedgy)! Also, the little bakery on the side street by grocery store, totally fresh empanadas, coffee and sweets!
Inside house tips...if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs (roosters with no sense of time, dogs barking & cats in heat...lol). Also, if you are light sensitive at night there is a street light right outside. Bring a mask and it's all good. :)
Enjoy and thanks again to everyone who made this trip PERFECT!


Amazing!

Dec 12, 2013 by ILana Tarutina

I had an amazing time surfing with you guys; thank you for giving me this great experience. When people ask about my trip to Costa Rica and ask what I enjoyed doing the most, without a doubt I say surfing! It was a great combination of tranquility and fun. Staff are very knowledgeable and answered all of my questions I had with regards to the sport. To my surprise I did a lot better than I thought I would, even on the first lesson. I will definitely be surfing with you guys again!


Bodhi Surf School Rules the Waves!

Dec 08, 2013 by Alison

Steve, Susan and I all send you Buenas Olas from California!
We had the greatest time ever and are still raving about it.
Getting up on the same wave was so cool- you guys were the best teachers- so inspiring! Sunset surfing in Bahia Balena with rainbows was a peak experience. We loved the bungalow so much. Awakening we would lazily move to the deck sipping spiced cucumber ginger water or cayenne lemonade to get energized for yoga with Pilar. Our yoga classes were restorative and beautifully sequenced to make it a good experience for all of us, even though we were at very different levels. Starting the day with gratitude, we couldn't go wrong. Wandering the beach, snorkeling, SUPing, dancing, eating great meals, talking with Pilar and Travis about local community issues, the poetry of Khalil Gibran and surfing with our teacher Gibran whose longing for good waves was poetry in itself. Thank-you Bodhi Surf School !
Alison


Nice Bungalow

Oct 20, 2013 by Blake and Amy

We had a wonderful time staying with Travis and Pilar. Great surfing lessons (we both got up!) and yoga session during our stay. We will be back :)


Best Surfing Instructor

Sep 18, 2013 by Ernesto Ochoa

Great surfing instructor and great person
Highly recomend that if you go to Ubita o Bahia Ballena and want to have a great experience try a surging lesson with Travis
Great instructor snd great person!


Awesome!

Sep 14, 2013 by Hunter

Bodhi surf school taught me how to surf quickly, easily and efficiently. They are so amazing and passionate and I believe that if you ever go to Bahia Ballena they are the perfect people to show you around!


Amazing Place

Aug 12, 2013 by Douglas

I recommend Bodhi Surf to anyone planning to visit the South/Central Pacific in Costa Rica. Surf, yoga, zip line, sea kayak, rafting... this is the place to do it all. Tavis and Pilar are great hosts and wonderful people.


Bodhi Bungalow Bliss

Jun 14, 2013 by Anita Palmer

I had the opportunity to spend the week in Bahia Ballena with Bodhi Surf School and at Bodhi Bungalows. My husband and I are always delighted and amazed with the crew at Bodhi Surf School and Yoga. We love Travis, Pilar, Gibran and Adrianne and feel like they have become family. Thank you all for your expertise, patience and personal touch. On this trip, I had to travel alone to Bahia Ballena but had the pleasure of staying in the brand new Bodhi Bungalow. It is in the sweetest out of the way "neighborhood" location with wildlife galore, peace and tranquility. The bungalow has absolutely everything necessary for a long self sufficient stay... and the mattresses are to die for! I slept, walked, worked (yes it has wifi), cooked local fare and just had a marvelous and restful time. The same Bodhi crew was there checking on me and available for any need I might have. I didn't get to practice yoga on this trip but Bodhi has also built a beautiful two story yoga platform within steps of the front door. I will be returning again and again...the next time with my husband!


Bodhi Surf +506-2743-8453 700 meters southeast of Restaurant La Fogata Bahia Ballena Osa, 60504 Costa Rica 5.0 5.0 16 16 Spending time at Bodhi Surf School was simply amazing. The personalized surfing and yoga sessions were incredible and so much better than we could have ever expected. We had firs
Page:
12
Bodhi Surf
700 meters southeast of Restaurant La Fogata Bahia BallenaOsa60504 Costa Rica 
 • +506-2743-8453