Bodhi Surf School Reviews

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Killer bungalow, awesome people

Jan 07, 2014 by Angie & Dan Novigrod

My husband and I arrived on Christmas Eve to Bodhi Surf lodge. Pilar and Travis were kind enough to invite us to a gathering for Christmas Eve dinner in the common area. They were very sweet about letting us know there was no pressure either way to come. However, we did and the food, company and drinks were wonderful. We felt so at home and welcomed!
Our bungalow was big, beautiful, clean and well appointed. It had two bedrooms, vaulted ceilings, gorgeous wood floors and fully equipped kitchen. Our patio had a table with 4 chairs to enjoy meals or just enjoy nature. BTW these are ECO friendly accommodations so every detail to keeping our "footprint" as small as possible was taken into consideration.
The surf clinic was run by Gibran. Both he and Harrison were awesome instructors. My husband and I were both able to step up our game on this trip. Yew!
They also helped us the days we didn't have surf clinic arrange board rental. Gibran also accommodated a request for some photos and there were a couple of killer ones worth a frame!
The area boasts a local grocery store and several little eateries. Many in a one in a 5 minute walk the rest closer to 15 minute walk. The beach is about 20 minute walk and if you don't have boards is doable. As for having a car the beach is 5 minutes and the store only a few.
The place is really a slice of heaven.
Pilar, Travis and Gibran really have their hearts in the right place with their conservation efforts. I can't wait to return again and do another surf clinic and enjoy the area of Bahia Ballena.
Tips: Foggata pizza BBQ chicken pizza, yummy! Roadshack deli-super yummy (we had the Fat Bastard and the Veggie Wedgy)! Also, the little bakery on the side street by grocery store, totally fresh empanadas, coffee and sweets!
Inside house tips...if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs (roosters with no sense of time, dogs barking & cats in heat...lol). Also, if you are light sensitive at night there is a street light right outside. Bring a mask and it's all good. :)
Enjoy and thanks again to everyone who made this trip PERFECT!


Amazing!

Dec 12, 2013 by ILana Tarutina

I had an amazing time surfing with you guys; thank you for giving me this great experience. When people ask about my trip to Costa Rica and ask what I enjoyed doing the most, without a doubt I say surfing! It was a great combination of tranquility and fun. Staff are very knowledgeable and answered all of my questions I had with regards to the sport. To my surprise I did a lot better than I thought I would, even on the first lesson. I will definitely be surfing with you guys again!


Bodhi Surf School Rules the Waves!

Dec 08, 2013 by Alison

Steve, Susan and I all send you Buenas Olas from California!
We had the greatest time ever and are still raving about it.
Getting up on the same wave was so cool- you guys were the best teachers- so inspiring! Sunset surfing in Bahia Balena with rainbows was a peak experience. We loved the bungalow so much. Awakening we would lazily move to the deck sipping spiced cucumber ginger water or cayenne lemonade to get energized for yoga with Pilar. Our yoga classes were restorative and beautifully sequenced to make it a good experience for all of us, even though we were at very different levels. Starting the day with gratitude, we couldn't go wrong. Wandering the beach, snorkeling, SUPing, dancing, eating great meals, talking with Pilar and Travis about local community issues, the poetry of Khalil Gibran and surfing with our teacher Gibran whose longing for good waves was poetry in itself. Thank-you Bodhi Surf School !
Alison


Nice Bungalow

Oct 20, 2013 by Blake and Amy

We had a wonderful time staying with Travis and Pilar. Great surfing lessons (we both got up!) and yoga session during our stay. We will be back :)


Best Surfing Instructor

Sep 18, 2013 by Ernesto Ochoa

Great surfing instructor and great person
Highly recomend that if you go to Ubita o Bahia Ballena and want to have a great experience try a surging lesson with Travis
Great instructor snd great person!


Awesome!

Sep 14, 2013 by Hunter

Bodhi surf school taught me how to surf quickly, easily and efficiently. They are so amazing and passionate and I believe that if you ever go to Bahia Ballena they are the perfect people to show you around!


Amazing Place

Aug 12, 2013 by Douglas

I recommend Bodhi Surf to anyone planning to visit the South/Central Pacific in Costa Rica. Surf, yoga, zip line, sea kayak, rafting... this is the place to do it all. Tavis and Pilar are great hosts and wonderful people.


Bodhi Bungalow Bliss

Jun 14, 2013 by Anita Palmer

I had the opportunity to spend the week in Bahia Ballena with Bodhi Surf School and at Bodhi Bungalows. My husband and I are always delighted and amazed with the crew at Bodhi Surf School and Yoga. We love Travis, Pilar, Gibran and Adrianne and feel like they have become family. Thank you all for your expertise, patience and personal touch. On this trip, I had to travel alone to Bahia Ballena but had the pleasure of staying in the brand new Bodhi Bungalow. It is in the sweetest out of the way "neighborhood" location with wildlife galore, peace and tranquility. The bungalow has absolutely everything necessary for a long self sufficient stay... and the mattresses are to die for! I slept, walked, worked (yes it has wifi), cooked local fare and just had a marvelous and restful time. The same Bodhi crew was there checking on me and available for any need I might have. I didn't get to practice yoga on this trip but Bodhi has also built a beautiful two story yoga platform within steps of the front door. I will be returning again and again...the next time with my husband!


Very unique!

Apr 10, 2013 by Annie Clermont

Amazing afternoon with a friend learning how to surf and... we did it!

What an amazing place to be with excellent tips to learn the basics of surf! The water is hot and the sea marvelous. Waves are goods and it's a 360 degres nature experience. Muchas gracias Gibran! Can't wait to go back!


This is what's SUP in Uvita!!!

Feb 25, 2013 by Terri Roberts

Going stand up paddle boarding with the folks at Bodhi Surf guarantees you a fabulous day. To be out on the open water gives you such an amazing view of one of Costa Rica's most beautiful beaches. I was in awe all day. Looking into the clear water and seeing different fish, coral, jellyfish and more was so neat to experience. The paddle boarding itself was excellent exercise that seemed effortless to achieve. You are just having too much fun to think you're getting a workout. The instructors are super nice, friendly and real. They were so fun to hang out with in the calm waters of the Whale's tail. You can tell they love what they do and want others to get to experience it for themselves. We had a blast floating around, trying out yoga poses and falling/jumping off the boards all afternoon. I would definitely do this again and again if I could. I'll never forget our day out on the water!!!


Bodhi Surf +506-2743-8453 700 meters southeast of Restaurant La Fogata Bahia Ballena Osa, 60504 Costa Rica 5.0 5.0 14 14 My husband and I arrived on Christmas Eve to Bodhi Surf lodge. Pilar and Travis were kind enough to invite us to a gathering for Christmas Eve dinner in the common area. They were
Page:
12
Bodhi Surf
700 meters southeast of Restaurant La Fogata Bahia BallenaOsa60504 Costa Rica 
 • +506-2743-8453